Pop Smoke
Search Menu

Breaking down the Album ‘Meet The Woo’ by ‘Pop Smoke’

Released: 2019

Label: Victor Victor Worldwide/Republic Records

Featuring: Nicki Minaj, Skepta

In 2019, Pop Smoke stormed the hip-hop scene with a tsunami force, riding the crest of the drill wave he helped propagate from the rough streets of Brooklyn to the global music scene. The Canarsie-bred rapper’s debut mixtape, ‘Meet The Woo,’ paradropped into the hip-hop landscape under the aegis of Victor Victor Worldwide and Republic Records, inducing seismic shifts with its audacious celebration of drill music. The project boasted an impressive catalogue of tracks, each bearing Pop’s distinctive gruff voice and candid, hard-hitting lyrics. From ‘Meet the Woo,’ a compelling fusion of charm and menace, to ‘Welcome To The Party,’ a war cry from the trenches of Brooklyn, ‘Hawk Em’s’ chilling embodiment of street justice, and ‘Dior,’ an anthem equally for the streets and the runway, the album is a gritty testimony of Pop Smoke’s world. The canvas of this project was further enriched by the daring lyrics and unique cadence of artists like Nicki Minaj and Skepta, painting a vivid picture of Pop Smoke’s rise to fame.

Pop Smoke’s tragic, untimely death has crystallized his legacy as a pioneer in this genre, but ‘Meet the Woo’ remains a living testament to his short-lived but impactful journey. It’s a palimpsest of the rapper’s complex persona, juxtaposing boisterous party anthems with chilling tales of street life, manifesting the duality of existence in his world. So let’s get into it. From ‘Meet the Woo’ to ‘Welcome To The Party (feat. Skepta) – Remix,’ here we are breaking down the album “Meet The Woo” by Pop Smoke.

1 Meet the Woo

The track oscillates between a seductive call to the “baby girl” and a bold assertion of the street life ethos Pop Smoke lived by, marked by a readiness to defend his status and command respect. A standout line encapsulates this duality perfectly, “Baby girl come and meet the woo, She know we keep a tool,” illustrating the seamless blend of charm and menace that characterized much of Pop Smoke’s artistic output and personal persona.

2 Welcome To The Party

With lines like “Gun on my hip / One in the head, ten in the clip,” Pop Smoke conjures the visceral, unapologetic energy of the streets, encapsulating the raw, unfiltered essence of drill. The track is an unyielding declaration of his presence, marked by the memorable “Baby, welcome to the party” hook, symbolizing both an introduction to his world and a war cry from the trenches of Brooklyn. It’s raw, it’s real, and it vividly paints a picture of the life and environment that shaped him, embodying the relentless spirit of drill music.

3 Hawk Em

Each verse spits raw energy, missile-like precision in its delivery of the hardships and realities of gang affiliations, asserting “Big .38 gon’ hawk ’em” as a stark testament to the no-holds-barred approach to conflicts. It’s a hard-hitting line that encapsulates the song’s essence: a menacing warning draped in the cold certainty of street justice.

4 Better Have Your Gun

The refrain, “Better have your gun,” serves as both a warning and a mantra, encapsulating the survival instincts necessary in the environments Pop Smoke navigates. Through vivid narratives of loyalty, conflict, and the hustle, the track underscores a life where readiness and respect are paramount. With lines like “Shoot a -, go to jail for it / ‘Cause I know I got the bail for it,” Pop Smoke delivers a chilling reflection on the harsh realities and personal stakes involved, setting the tone for a gritty, authentic representation of his world.

5 Scenario

Through the gritty narrative, he portrays a life of constant vigilance and the readiness to shift the scenario in his favor at any moment’s notice.

6 Dior

“Christian Dior, Dior, I’m up in all the stores,” Pop Smoke asserts, seamlessly weaving the narratives of success and excess with the everyday realities of survival in the trenches. This standout line doesn’t merely flaunt wealth but symbolizes a triumphant rise from the depths, a badge of honor in a game where many play but few win. Amidst the opulent mentions of Mike Amiri and Billie Jean, lies a raw acknowledgment of life’s volatility— “When it rains, it pours.” Through these lyrics, Pop Smoke encapsulates the duality of life on the streets with the aspirational allure of fashion’s highest echelons, making “Dior” a quintessential anthem for the streets and the runway alike.

7 Feeling

The track is laced with a raw, thunderous proclamation of readiness and aggression: “I got that sit ’em down feeling / Get up, can’t sit around feeling.” These lines, repeated with a hypnotic rhythm, evoke the cycle of action and reaction in a world where staying static isn’t an option. Pop Smoke’s delivery, thick with the tension of potential violence, captures the essence of drill music—always moving, always ready. It’s an anthem for those who live in a perennial state of alertness, where the next moment could demand everything.


Through starkly raw lyrics, Pop Smoke recounts tales of violence, survival, and the paradoxes of love and loyalty in a perilous world. A standout line, “My PTSD startin’ to kick in so I gotta get high,” encapsulates the cycle of trauma and escape, laying bare the psychological toll of a life marked by constant vigilance and conflict. This track not only captures the essence of Pop Smoke’s inner turmoil but also serves as a chilling commentary on the broader experiences of those caught in the crossfire of urban strife.

9 Brother Man

“Said I ride for my brothers, woo, woo / Brother man, brother man, look,” he emphatically repeats, signaling an unshakable bond that stands against external threats. This track is less about the lyrics’ surface-level aggression and more about the underlying message: in a world rife with challenges and opposition, Pop Smoke underscores the importance of standing firmly by those you consider family, ready to face whatever comes. His reference to “If I call Dread, then you dead (Woo, woo)” isn’t just a display of bravado but a declaration of the lengths he’ll go to protect his own.

10 Welcome To The Party – Remix

Features: Nicki Minaj

With this remix Nicki Minaj rides the gritty drill beat with the confidence and braggadocio that’s become her trademark, adding a lavish layer to Pop Smoke’s raw energy. Through her verse, she asserts dominance and effortlessly blends street wisdom with luxury lifestyle references, encapsulating the song’s theme of reckless celebration and survival. A standout hard-hitting line, “It’s Big 092MLBOA, I make a call and it’s war,” showcases Nicki’s ability to command respect and fear, alluding to her influence and readiness for confrontation, perfectly complimenting Pop’s menacing delivery.

11 Welcome To The Party – Remix

Features: Skepta

Pop Smoke and Skepta blend their distinct sounds to create an anthem that’s both a celebration and a cautionary tale, encapsulating the gritty essence of their lifestyles. Skepta’s verse is a standout, mixing braggadocio with sharp observations, but it’s Pop Smoke’s raw energy and memorable lines that anchor the track. A line that encapsulates this energy is, “Bitch, I’m a thot, get me lit (Get me lit) / Gun on my hip (Gun on my hip).” This line not only showcases Pop Smoke’s unapologetic embrace of his persona but also serves as a stark reminder of the omnipresent edge and tension in the parties and environments he narrates.

Related Posts