From Illmatic to Madvillainy, To Pimp a Butterfly to Aquemini, Tha Carter II to De La Soul Is Dead, we look at the best hip hop albums of all time, year by year.

2010 was a monumental year for hip hop, and one that would influence the rest of the decade to come. With high profile releases from Drake and Nicki Minaj – two artists who would go on to dominate the 2010s – it was also a sign of things to come for the legendary Cash Money/Young Money run.

Meanwhile, Rick Ross would drop his best album to date with Telfon Don, as would Kanye West with My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, and The Roots would continue their incredible Def Jam run with How I Got Over. After years of delays and anticipation, OutKast member Big Boi would finally get the chance to release his solo debut Sir Lucious Left Foot: The Son of Chico Dusty.

From Drake’s Thank Me Later to Waka Flocka Flame’s Flockaveli and Roc Marciano’s Marcberg, here are the top 25 best hip hop albums of 2010.

25. Drake – Thank Me Later

Released: June 15, 2010

Label: Young Money, Cash Money, Universal Motown

Singles: “Over”, “Find Your Love”, “Miss Me”, “Fancy”

Features: Alicia Keys, Timbaland, Swizz Beatz, Nicki Minaj, Lil Wayne, The-Dream, and Kanye West

24. Beanie Sigel & Freeway – The Roc Boys

Released: March 9, 2010

Label:, eOne

Singles: N/A

Features: Young Chris, Young Gunz, State Property, Jakk Frost, Wale and Tyeena

23. Pimp C – The Naked Soul of Sweet Jones

Released: October 5, 2010

Label: Rap-A-Lot 4 Life, Universal Motown

Singles: N/A

Features: Bun B, Da Underdawgz, BankRoll Jonez, Bub, Chamillionaire, Cory Mo, Drake, E-40, Hezeleo, Ivory P., Jazze Pha, J-Dawg, Lil’ Boosie, Rick Ross, Slim Thug, The Gator Mane, Too $hort, Webbie and Young Jeezy

22. Gucci Mane – The Appeal: Georgia’s Most Wanted

Released: September 28, 2010

Label: 1017 Brick Squad, Asylum, Warner Bros.

Singles: “Gucci Time”

Features: Pharrell, Nicki Minaj, Bun B, Swizz Beatz, Juicy J, Ray J, Wyclef, Estelle

21. Nicki Minaj – Pink Friday

Released: November 22, 2010

Label: Young Money, Cash Money, Universal Motown

Singles: “Your Love”, “Check It Out”, “Right Thru Me”, “Moment 4 Life”, “Super Bass”, “Did It On’em”, “Girls Fall Like Dominoes”, “Fly”

Features: Eminem, Rihanna, Drake,, Kanye West and Natasha Bedingfield

20. Lil Wayne – I Am Not a Human Being

Released: September 27, 2010

Label: Young Money, Cash Money, Universal Motown

Singles: “I’m Single”, “Right Above It”

Features: Gudda Gudda, Jae Millz, Tyga, Drake, T-Streets, Nicki Minaj, Lil Twist, Jay Sean

19. Rhymefest – El Che

Released: June 8, 2010

Label: dNBe Entertainment, EMI

Singles: N/A

Features: Little Brother, Darien Brockington, Phonte, Twone Gabz, Glenn Lewis, Saigon, Slique

18. Capone-N-NoreagaThe War Report 2: Report the War

Released: July 13, 2010

Label: Ice H2O, EMI Records

Singles: “Hood Pride”

Features: Imam T.H.U.G., Musaliny, The LOX, Raekwon, Faith Evans, Nas, Busta Rhymes

17. Kid Cudi – Man on the Moon II: The Legend of Mr. Rager

Released: November 9, 2010

Label: Dream On, GOOD, Universal Motown

Singles: “Erase Me”, “Mr. Rager”

Features: CeeLo Green, Mary J. Blige, Kanye West, Cage, St. Vincent, GLC, Chip tha Ripper, and Nicole Wray

16. Redman – Reggie

Released: December 7, 2010

Label: Gilla House Records, Def Jam Recordings

Singles: “Def Jammable”, “Rocking With The Best”

Features: Method Man, Bun B, DJ Kool, Ready Roc, Runt Dawg, Saukrates, Faith Evans, Kool Moe Dee, Poo Bear

15. Ghostface Killah – Apollo Kids

Released: December 21, 2010

Label: Def Jam

Singles: “2getha Baby”

Features: Redman, Black Thought, Busta Rhymes, Joell Ortiz, The Game, Killah Priest, GZA, Cappadonna, Jim Jones, Sheek Louch, Sun God, Raekwon, U-God, Redman, Method Man

14. Black Milk – Album of the Year 

Released: September 14, 2010

Label: Fat Beats

Singles: “Welcome (Gotta Go)”, “Deadly Medley”

Features: Royce da 5’9″, Elzhi, AB, Melanie Rutherford, Monica Blaire, Danny Brown, Mr. Porter

13. Skyzoo & IllmindLive from the Tape Deck

Released: October 5, 2010

Label: Duck Down

Singles: “Frisbees”, “Speakers On Blast”

Features: Styles P, Buckshot, Trae, Rhymefest, Heltah Skeltah

12. Freeway & Jake One – The Stimulus Package

Released: February 16, 2010

Label: Rhymesayers

Singles: “She Makes Me Feel Alright”, “Know What I Mean”

Features: LaToiya Williams, Beanie Sigel, Raekwon, Young Chris, Birdman, Bun B, Mr. Porter

11. Rah Digga – Classic

Released: September 14, 2010

Label: Raw Koncept RED

Singles: N/A

Features: N/A

10. Waka Flocka Flame – Flockaveli

Released: October 5, 2010

Label: 1017 Brick Squad, Asylum, Warner Bros.

Singles: “O Let’s Do It”, “Hard in da Paint”, “No Hands”, “Grove St. Party”

Features: French Montana, YG Hootie, Joe Moses, Suge Gotti, Baby Bomb, Slim Dunkin, Roscoe Dash, Wale, Gudda Gudda, Pastor Troy, Kebo Gotti, Uncle Murda

9. Roc Marciano – Marcberg

Released: May 4, 2010

Label: Fat Beats Records

Singles: N/A

Features: Sean Price

8. Eminem – Recovery

Released: June 18, 2010

Label: Shady, Aftermath, Interscope

Singles: “Not Afraid”, “Love the Way You Lie”, “No Love”, “Space Bound”

Features: Pink, Lil Wayne, Slaughterhouse and Rihanna

7. Currensy – Pilot Talk

Released: July 13, 2010

Label: DD172

Singles: “King Kong”, “Roasted”

Features: Trademark da Skydiver, Young Roddy, Big K.R.I.T., Smoke DZA, Snoop Dogg, Sir Michael Rocks, Jay Electronica, Mos Def, Devin the Dude, Stalley

6. Reflection Eternal – Revolutions per Minute

Released: May 18, 2010

Label: Blacksmith, Rawkus, Warner Bros.

Singles: “Back Again”, “Just Begun”, “In This World”, “Strangers (Paranoid)”, “Midnight Hour”

Features: Jay Electronica, J. Cole, Mos Def, Bun B, Res, Estelle, Chester French, Bilal

5. Nas & Damian Marley – Distant Relatives

Released: May 18, 2010

Label: Universal Republic, Def Jam

Singles: “As We Enter”, “Strong Will Continue”, “My Generation”

Features: K’naan, Stephen Marley, Dennis Brown, Junior Reid, Joss Stone and Lil Wayne

4. Rick Ross – Teflon Don

Released: July 20, 2010

Label: Maybach Music Group, Slip-n-Slide, Def Jam

Singles: “Super High”, “B.M.F. (Blowin’ Money Fast)”, “Aston Martin Music”

Features: Drake, Chrisette Michele, Jay-Z, T.I., Jadakiss, Erykah Badu, Kanye West, Ne-Yo, Diddy, Gucci Mane, Styles P

3. The Roots – How I Got Over

Released: June 22, 2010

Label: Def Jam

Singles: “How I Got Over”, “Dear God 2.0”, “The Fire”

Features: Amber Coffman, Angel Deradoorian, Haley Dekle, Truck North, P.O.R.N., Dice Raw, Monsters of Folk, Blu, Phonte, Joanna Newsom, John Legend, Peedi Peedi

2. Big Boi – Sir Lucious Left Foot: The Son of Chico Dusty

Released: July 5, 2010

Label: Purple Ribbon, Def Jam South

Singles: “Shutterbugg”, “Follow Us”

Features: George Clinton, Too Short, Sam Chris, Sleepy Brown, JOi, Cute, T.I., Khujo Goodie, Yelawolf, Jamie Foxx, Janelle Monae, Gucci Mane

1. Kanye West – My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy

Released: November 22, 2010

Label: Def Jam, Roc-A-Fella

Singles: “Power”, “Runaway”, “Monster”, “All of the Lights”

Features: Nicki Minaj, Rihanna, Bon Iver, Jay-Z, Pusha T, Rick Ross, Kid Cudi, John Legend, Elton John, and Raekwon

Related Posts